CHES Recertification

Continuing Education Banner

Continuing Education Requirements for CHES®

After initial certification, each CHES® must earn a total of 75 continuing education contact hours (CECH) every five years to be recertified.

At least 45 of these CECH must come from offerings by NCHEC preapproved Designated Providers (Category I); the remaining 30 CECH may come from other providers (Category II) and reported using the CAT II claim form. Five of the 75 total credits must fulfill the Continuing Competency Requirement effective April 1, 2019.

CHES® may choose to earn all 75 CECH in Category I.

CHES® who have accumulated in excess of 75 CECH at the end of their current five-year certification cycle may carry over a maximum of 15 Category I CECH into their next five-year certification cycle.


The best way to submit a Category II Claim Form is through your online portal. Log in HERE. 
  Learn How to Check Your CHES Transcript Here

Ready to learn more? Request our presentation kit that illustrates the benefits of NCHEC certification or join our mailing list for the latest NCHEC news.