Continuing Competency

Continuing Competency


Effective April 1, 2019: CHES® and MCHES® need 5 Continuing Competency (CC) credits completed within their five-year cycle to recertify. There will be a Category I OR Category II CECH option to fulfill your CC requirement.

Policy and Procedures for Renewal and Recertification Manual:  Effective January 1, 2023 

Continuing Competency entails the demonstration of specified levels of knowledge, skills, or ability not only at the time of initial certification but throughout an individual’s professional career. The NCHEC recertification requirements will demonstrate the Continuing Competency of a Certified or Master Certified Health Education Specialist, as well as demonstrate a career commitment to the professional development and growth that represents an NCHEC credential. 


View the Timeline Graphic for Continuing Competency
  • CHES® and MCHES® will have five full years to complete their CC requirements (5 out of 75 credits must be CC). So the earliest that CC requirements will be due is in March of 2024.
  • CC requirements will be phased in during subsequent recertification/exam cycles (see timeline graphic).
  • All CHES® and MCHES® will be notified by NCHEC via USPS mail and email before the start of their CC requirement phase.


  • CHES® and MCHES® need 5 CC CECH during the course of their five-year cycle.  These five credits will be part of the 75 total CECH. The total number of continuing education credits needed will not increase.
  • CC credits will be available as either Category I CECH OR Category II CECH. You will not need both. A measurement of a CHES® or MCHES®’s continued competence during his/her five-year recertification cycle will include either:

1) an assessment/quiz by provider of Category I CECH OR 

2) an evaluation of job duties by a supervisor (Category II CECH).  

View the Category II Performance Assessment


  • Category I CC opportunities are now searchable on the NCHEC website
  • Many of the Category I CECH that you are already familiar with will count as CC credits (e.g. Self-studies, webinars, and professional readings with end-of-study assessments, workshops, and teach-backs, demonstration of skills, etc.) Category I CC credits will be reported on your behalf by the NCHEC provider.
  • A Category II CC credit option is available: a five-credit (CECH) Performance Assessment from your employer (with a self-employed option).


  • CC measurements prove the commitment and professional development of a professional, and are required due to changes in national and international accreditation standards.
  • CC requirements are a quality assurance measurement for organizations and consumers receiving the services of CHES® and MCHES®.
  • NCHEC is dedicated to meeting public expectations about the competence of practitioners in the field of health education and promotion.
  • A measurement of the continued competence of a credential holder will provide value to the CHES® and MCHES® certifications.

Please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions listed below for additional details regarding the new CC requirements, or view NCHEC's presentation "Utilizing National and International Accreditation Standards to Set Policy for Certification of the Health Education and Promotion Workforce" from the APHA 2017 Annual Meeting.

FAQ Logo
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Continuing Competency


Why is this change occurring? 

NCHEC is fully committed to certifying individuals in accordance with national and international accreditation standards.  Both the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) and the International Accreditation Service (ISO 17024) accreditation standards now include continuing competency measurements.  NCHEC is also dedicated to meeting public expectations about the competence of practitioners in the field of health education and promotion.  For this reason, the NCHEC Board of Commissionerss voted to include a measurement of continuing competency as part of the recertification process for both CHES® and MCHES®.

When is this change occurring?

Effective 2019, NCHEC has adjusted recertification requirements to include this definition of continuing competency. A measurement of an individual’s continued competence during his/her 5-year recertification cycle will include either 1) an assessment (Category I CECH) OR 2) an evaluation of job duties by a supervisor (Category II Performance Assessment).  This adjustment will begin with individuals whose new recertification cycle began on April 1, 2019, and will not be complete until March 31, 2024.

Will I have to take an exam?

No.  Continuing Competency measurements include either 1) a CE end-of-course assessment/quiz provided by a Category I Provider, OR, 2) an “assessment” of performance by a supervisor or client (worth five Category II CECHs). Although an exam was an option initially considered, the NCHEC Division Board for Professional Development voted to adopt an assessment format rather than an exam.

What does the performance assessment option involve?

The Category II CECH Continuing Competence Performance Assessment is a two-step process.  1) The credential holder completes a self-appraisal of his/her performance demonstrating continuing competence.  2) The assessor reviews and responds to the Continuing Competence Performance Assessment and returns it to the applicant.  The assessor may be a current supervisor/manager, a past supervisor/manager, or a client.  Note: This is the first time a CHES® credential holder may submit work experience as continuing education. The performance assessment will be worth five full CECHs toward recertification.

How will I know when my continuing competency requirements are due?

All CHES® and MCHES® will be notified of the new continuing competency requirements, and when this requirement will become a part of his/her recertification cycle.  Program implementation date will commence with those who will begin a new recertification cycle on April 1, 2019 (ending in 2024) and continue with subsequent cycles.  CHES® and MCHES® will have five full years to complete and submit the new requirements.

Can I take an extension for continuing competency requirements?

Yes, but you can only take a maximum of two extensions in any recertification period.

Do I need to complete both Category I and Category II CC credits?

No. You may choose one or the other. A Category II performance assessment is worth five credits and would fulfill your requirement.

How do I know which CECH will count as continuing competency?

Category I Continuing Competency credits will be searchable on  These credits will be reported to us by the provider – you will not have to submit a form for Category I.

If you have additional questions about the continuing competency requirements, email

Ready to learn more? Request our presentation kit that illustrates the benefits of NCHEC certification or join our mailing list for the latest NCHEC news.